Robert is a composer living in Boston, MA. He co-founded the Sleeping Giant composer collective and co-directs the Times Two Series. Send me emails at rhonstein@gmail.com !

Check out my store to purchase albums and scores.

long bio


Click here to see what people have to say about Robert's music.

Click here to download press materials for Robert.

Events Calendar

  • Mo 2.26.18: TIC @ MEE
  • We 2.28.18: Conduit @ Boston
  • Sa 3.3.18: MG @ MFA
  • Mo 3.5.18: TIC @ MEE
  • Su 3.11.18: Middle Ground @ Lincoln, NE
  • Sa 3.24.18: Hymning @ VU
  • Mo 3.26.18: SH @ Cleveland
  • We 3.28.18: SH @ Elyria
  • Th 3.29.18: SH @ U.Michigan
  • Fr 4.6.18: Residency @ KU
  • Su 4.8.18: Patter @ UNCG
  • Th 4.12.18: Timor @ Shift
  • Th 4.12.18: 3ANM @ Portland
  • Fr 4.13.18: 3ANM @ Portland
  • Mo 4.23.18: SH @ NYC
Click here to see past events.


Fl., Cl., Vln., Vc., Perc., Piano – 16 minutes


Composed for Hand Eye, Sleeping Giant’s evening length collaboration with eighth blackbird, Conduit takes its cue from an interactive sculpture by digital artists Zigelbaum and Coelho. In their 640 by 480 the human body merges with computational process, facilitating simple copy/paste operations between sculptural elements. Set in three movements— Touch, Pulse, SendConduit evokes this man/machine synthesis. As bright waves of color explode from repeated sonic bursts, Touch compulsively repeats the gesture so fundamental to how we interact with our devices. In Pulse long lines in the flute and cello move through a cloud of asynchronous repeated notes, evoking that instantaneous moment when data passes from finger to screen. Finally, Send completes the transfer. Action follows as the music energizes and accelerates, moving briskly to a wild conclusion.

Check out this video of ‘640 by 480’ to see Zigelbaum and Coelho’s sculpture in action.

Here is a recording of eight blackbird’s NPR Tiny Desk Concert, performing the second movement Pulse:

Conduit was commissioned by eighth blackbird, as part of a group project with Sleeping Giant.

To purchase a score and part set please click here