Robert is a composer living in Boston, MA. He co-founded the Sleeping Giant composer collective and co-directs the Times Two Series. Send me emails at rhonstein@gmail.com !

Check out my store to purchase albums and scores.

long bio


Click here to see what people have to say about Robert's music.

Click here to download press materials for Robert.

Events Calendar

  • Mo 1.22.18: SH @ Seattle
  • Tu 1.23.18: SH @ Portland
  • Th 2.8.18: SH @ TSU
  • Th 2.22.18: Ash @ Strathmore
  • Mo 2.26.18: TIC @ MEE
  • We 2.28.18: Conduit @ Boston
  • Sa 3.3.18: MG @ MFA
  • Mo 3.5.18: TIC @ MEE
  • Sa 3.24.18: Hymning @ VU
  • Mo 3.26.18: SH @ Cleveland
  • We 3.28.18: SH @ Elyria
  • Th 3.29.18: SH @ U.Michigan
  • Su 4.8.18: Patter @ UNCG
  • Th 4.12.18: Timor @ Shift
  • Th 4.12.18: 3ANM @ Portland
Click here to see past events.

RE: you

 RE: you 3

RE: You is my debut album on New Focus Recordings. It comes from about three years of close collaboration with a bunch of great friends and musicians and features Concert Black, Karl Larson, Tema Watstein, Alejandro Aceirto, Mariel Roberts and Derek Johnson. The subject are a collection of lonely-heart emails mistakenly received by my friend Jeffrey K Miller. Jeff wrote a beautiful liner note that tells the story far better than I can. Get more info here. Buy the album anywhere on the internet! Or click here, here, or here. In the words of Jeffrey K Miller:

RE: You is a lot of fun. So it may not be obvious that it is also the result of a modern online-privacy violation nightmare. The unusual titles of these unusual tracks are taken from a series of about 100 messages, both incoming and outgoing, that were erroneously cc’d to me by a popular online-dating site in 2008. In some database on some server in some highly-air-conditioned room somewhere, some Midwestern, middle-aged Jeffrey K. Miller’s online profile had been mistakenly paired with my email address, and the result was a ringside seat at the romantic travails of a total stranger.

In 2008, dating online was generally considered a shameful admission of social defeat, a desperate attempt to connect made by those who couldn’t cut it in the real world. That summer, as Robert and I read these messages, watching the font colors change, encountering strange new emoticons, witnessing a proliferation of maximalist orthography and punctuation not seen since the Vorticist movement (or a sixth-grader’s IM history), it was tempting to dismiss them for being ridiculous and naive. And from the perspective of The Elements of Style, of course, they are. Nevertheless, that very same naiveté gave us access to an emotional life that was too human and too real to ignore. We had to admit that we were not only amused; we were also moved.

Heard as a whole, these songs do not take us on the journey of a love affair, but on the journey of a longing for one. They trace the arc of a very real desire for something to happen. But for all their moments of excitement and absurdity, they never allow us to rise from the solitude of the desk chair, where the sound of the pounding heart is transformed by the fact that there is no one else around to hear it. This strange sensitivity that attends digital romance can be felt in every moment of these compositions. Now that I have experienced it myself, I’ve started cc’ing Robert on all my romantic communiques, in hopes that he can use them, too, to create something wonderful. I am still waiting, anxiously, to hear back.

Jeffrey K. Miller

February 2014

Buy the album now from New Focus Recordings or check out excerpts below!