Robert is a composer living in Boston, MA. He co-founded the Sleeping Giant composer collective and co-directs the Times Two Series. Send me emails at rhonstein@gmail.com !

Check out my store to purchase albums and scores.

long bio


Click here to see what people have to say about Robert's music.

Click here to download press materials for Robert.

Events Calendar

  • Mo 2.26.18: TIC @ MEE
  • We 2.28.18: Conduit @ Boston
  • Sa 3.3.18: MG @ MFA
  • Mo 3.5.18: TIC @ MEE
  • Su 3.11.18: Middle Ground @ Lincoln, NE
  • Sa 3.24.18: Hymning @ VU
  • Mo 3.26.18: SH @ Cleveland
  • We 3.28.18: SH @ Elyria
  • Th 3.29.18: SH @ U.Michigan
  • Fr 4.6.18: Residency @ KU
  • Su 4.8.18: Patter @ UNCG
  • Th 4.12.18: Timor @ Shift
  • Th 4.12.18: 3ANM @ Portland
  • Fr 4.13.18: 3ANM @ Portland
  • Mo 4.23.18: SH @ NYC
Click here to see past events.

Is it Auburn?

Violin, Cello, Percussion, Piano – 8 minutes


Correction Line set up. Great Hall, Toronto.


A couple years ago a friend of mine received about 100 emails in error. They had been sent to a man with the same name as my friend and contained a meticulous record of every communication this person had sent or received within a popular online dating site. I found these emails to be hilarious, moving, and bizarre. Both the content and the strangeness of how they entered my life have led me to refer back to them again and again in my work. For these pieces I took the first line of two emails–Just please let me know and that’s all I ask from you, and Is it Auburn?–and composed musical responses to each statement. As much as possible I tried to imagine the emotional impetus for each email. Ultimately these pieces became a set of songs without words, each one underscoring the moment in which this unknown man composed his emails.

I composed these pieces for the Correction Line Ensemble’s November Canada tour. The recordings below are from our 11.23 show at the Manitou Opera House in Manitou, Manitoba and our 11.26 show at the Lorne Watson Recital Hall in Brandon, Manitoba. The musicians are Leanne Zacharias, Cello, Cristina Zacharias, Vioin, Ed Reifel, Percussion, and myself on Piano.

Is it Auburn?

To purchase a score and part set please click here

Also, check out this awesome video WNYC’s Q2 made of the piece:

premiered 11.16.10 The Great Hall, Toronto, Ontario, CA