Robert is a composer living in Boston, MA. He co-founded the Sleeping Giant composer collective and co-directs the Times Two Series. Send me emails at rhonstein@gmail.com !

Check out my store to purchase albums and scores.

long bio


Click here to see what people have to say about Robert's music.

Click here to download press materials for Robert.

Events Calendar

  • Mo 2.26.18: TIC @ MEE
  • We 2.28.18: Conduit @ Boston
  • Sa 3.3.18: MG @ MFA
  • Mo 3.5.18: TIC @ MEE
  • Su 3.11.18: Middle Ground @ Lincoln, NE
  • Sa 3.24.18: Hymning @ VU
  • Mo 3.26.18: SH @ Cleveland
  • We 3.28.18: SH @ Elyria
  • Th 3.29.18: SH @ U.Michigan
  • Fr 4.6.18: Residency @ KU
  • Su 4.8.18: Patter @ UNCG
  • Th 4.12.18: Timor @ Shift
  • Th 4.12.18: 3ANM @ Portland
  • Fr 4.13.18: 3ANM @ Portland
  • Mo 4.23.18: SH @ NYC
Click here to see past events.

Why are you not answering?

Clarinet, Electric Guitar, Cello, Double Bass, Piano, Drum Set, Glockenspiel – 14 minutes

A couple years ago a friend of mine received about 100 emails in error. They had been sent to a man with the same name as my friend and contained a meticulous record of every communication this person had sent or received within a popular online dating site. I found these emails to be hilarious, moving, and bizarre. Both the content and the strangeness of how they entered my life have led me to refer back to them again and again in my work. For these pieces I took the first line of two emails–My friend, I understand 100%, I have no girlfriend, and Why are you not answering? I do not wish to play games–and composed musical responses to each statement. As much as possible I tried to imagine the emotional impetus for each email. Ultimately these pieces became a set of songs without words, each one underscoring the moment in which this unknown man composed his emails.

This piece was commissioned for the 2010 Bang on a Can Summer Institute and premiered by Evan Ziporyn and six awesome fellows: Lisa Dowling on bass, Owen Weaver on drums, Karl Larson on piano, Nora Krahl on Cello, Daniel Reyes Llinas on Guitar, and myself on Glockenspiel.

The recording is of the premiere.


To purchase a score and part set please click here

Also, check out this video taken from the piece’s premiere at Banglewood:

premiered 7.26.10 MASS MoCA, North Adams, MA.