Robert is a composer living in Boston, MA. He co-founded the Sleeping Giant composer collective and co-directs the Times Two Series. Send me emails at rhonstein@gmail.com !

Check out my store to purchase albums and scores.

long bio


Click here to see what people have to say about Robert's music.

Click here to download press materials for Robert.

Events Calendar

  • Mo 1.22.18: SH @ Seattle
  • Tu 1.23.18: SH @ Portland
  • Th 2.8.18: SH @ TSU
  • Th 2.22.18: Ash @ Strathmore
  • Mo 2.26.18: TIC @ MEE
  • We 2.28.18: Conduit @ Boston
  • Sa 3.3.18: MG @ MFA
  • Mo 3.5.18: TIC @ MEE
  • Sa 3.24.18: Hymning @ VU
  • Mo 3.26.18: SH @ Cleveland
  • We 3.28.18: SH @ Elyria
  • Th 3.29.18: SH @ U.Michigan
  • Su 4.8.18: Patter @ UNCG
  • Th 4.12.18: Timor @ Shift
  • Th 4.12.18: 3ANM @ Portland
Click here to see past events.

Waterloo Dance Hall

Saxophone Quartet (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Baritone)

Waterloo Dance Hall is a joyful romp through a beer-cloud maze of smooth tunes and toe-tapping dance rhythms. The title takes its cue from a popular watering hole in Austin, TX: the Waterloo Ice House. Following a certain night of revelry, longnecks, spirited full-body gyrations, and an excellent afro-pop band, I began to compose this Quartet. After some time, I realized the music was in many ways a reflection and fantasy on the experiences of that evening. As such, Waterloo Dance Hall is a kind of musical snapshot whose structure tells a story that may or may not have actually unfolded that spirited evening.

This recording is the Konisch Quartet at the 2006 SCI National Student Conference in Tempe, AZ


check out the score!

To purchase a score and part set please click here

Premiered 3.27.06 by the Thursday Morning Saxophone Quartet. Audio Inversions Concert Series, Austin Museum of Contemporary Art, Austin, TX